Logo research

I have carried out some research into mobile app logos. Looking online and simply using my phone to analyse different approaches to their logos. It is apparent that there isn’t really one style of logo as there are endless variations. However a lot of apps tend to encompass and existing logo within a rectangular or circular shape. I think this tends to be the case when an existing brand was turned into a mobile app version so they want to retain the same logo for recognition and just slightly minimalise it to become the app icon.

Since this is not my case and I am developing the brand specifically and foremost for a mobile app I can approach the design in a different way. As in my previous post of “responsive logos” I think I will carry out the design of the main logo first and strip it down as much as I can to create the mobile icon.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 00.20.17

 

 

I looked at other travel app logos too to see what has been done before. Of course a lot of them carry out the cliche imagery of a plane or some other imagery symbolising travel.

Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 00.09.12

 

I though I would look at airline logos to see how they encompass the traveling aspect without being too direct with the imagery.

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 01.58.24

 

I want to keep in mind that my app is to facilitate travel preparations and not really an app involving traveling somewhere. With the two elements of house sitting and petsitting I need to also be careful not to focus on one of the other too much as I can’t include a logo with a dog, if the app isn’t just about pet sitting.

Leave a Reply

