Card Development

photo-on-03-02-2017-at-01-53

I began sketching out a few different layout ideas based on other collectable cards I have been looking at. Experimenting with double sided layouts, the image placement (how big is it going to be, how much of the layout will it take vs the text), considering what I want to include ( illustration, description, a map? a logo? and any other design elements). I also the possibility of having the cards laid out horizontally.

screen-shot-2017-01-26-at-02-13-50

I also began experimenting with type to see what is going to work best.

screen-shot-2017-01-26-at-01-57-45

This was my initial prototype, using quite a standard and simple layout. Placing my illustration into the layout made me think that I should have perhaps reconsidered the composition for it as I was initially thinking of adding a background and I am now thinking I probably don’t need to. Due to the composition of this illustration however I am a bit limited to a semi horizontal rectangular frame in order to show of the whole illustration.

Leave a Reply

