Poster Development

As part of my FMP proposal I said I would do a poster if I had enough time. Also thinking about the exhibition I think my beer bottles will need something to go with them as I feel having the bottles on their own sitting on a table might not show them off as best as possible. I looked into the possibility of having some sort of display promotion such as the Heineken one below but with the short amount of time left for my project I decided to go with a poster instead.

acrylic_bottle_display_acrylic_wine_bottle_display

Having a look on google I found some examples of beer posters that I liked and some regular posters too. Looking at the posters that I found, the main focus tends to be actual beer bottles and not just the brand name or logo. Having the actual product be part of the poster helps the viewer make the connection for when they see the beer in a store, I don’t think this would be as effective if they included the name of the brand. Another reason for including an image of the bottle is to remind the viewer that the poster is talking about beer incase they are not previously familiar with the brand.

The posters have other elements that reinforce the brands image like the example of the Tiger beer above, its surrounded by bright splashes of colour coming from behind the bottle its self and also features some toucans (animals synonymous with tropical regions). All this reinforces the Tiger beer’s country of origin, Singapore and the tropical elements of the region. The Corona special edition ‘Day of the Dead Cans’ features a prominent skull candy illustration. Some of them had a slogan to go with it and some didn’t have any text and just left the imagery do the talking.

I started off experimenting with different layouts using my illustrations. Using a beer bottle template psd file I found I placed my owl label to produce my beer bottle mock up as at this point I still haven’t received my printed labels yet.Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 21.47.46

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 21.48.01

Using the artwork that I already produced for the patterns I played around with creating different backgrounds.

poster1-01

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 23.26.20

The bottle it self needed to be the centre of focus so for this poster I turned down the opacity of the illustrations in the background.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 22.28.32

Arriving at this layout I felt the layout was quite strong having the owl sitting behind the bottle reinforcing the label imagery. I wasn’t convinced by the yellow pattern behind.

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 21.13.59

I felt this was definitely the stronger layout out of all the posters I’ve done. On this one I was trying out a white boarder around the poster. After getting some feed back I was suggested to get rid of the boarder and bleed out the image the edges because the use of big boarders on posters is not something that always works.

Sticking to this layout I thought of including some text as sometimes seen on beer posters. Also playing around with the positioning of the logo to see where it sits best. I had a couple of people mention that the beer bottle looked as if it was a “trunk” of the owl and that it deterred from the illustration. Taking this into consideration the more I looked at the poster the more I tended to agree even though I was happy with this layout I decided on experimenting with the composition again.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 22.27.57 Arriving at this final solution I was able to showcase both the bottle and the illustration without hindering either. The imagery of the owl was at full opacity so the colours make the poster more appealing. By this stage I had received my labels and was able to take photos of my finished bottles. This was important as I didn’t want the bottle featured on the poster to look different to the ones that I will be having on display. The positioning of all the elements worked and weren’t fighting each other, making better use of space than the previous poster and the composition was stronger.

1 thought on “Poster Development”

Leave a Reply

