Evaluation & Final Pieces

ALEBRIJESLOGO

 

 
Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 22.53.16

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 22.53.33

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 22.27.57

These are my final pieces for my craft beer branding project, these include the logo design, three labels and a poster. I am pleased with the results from the work I have produced and feel that I have achieved all the learning outcomes for my FMP. I have explored and thoroughly researched craft beers and other similar products to arrive at a strong solution. My alebrije theme allowed me to explore many illustrative possibilities and resulted in a unique brand identity. After a lot of development and work to get the illustrations how I wanted them I am pleased with the results and think they are strong illustrations on their own right. The illustrations and theme accompanied by the bright colour schemes are what would make my beers stand out from the crowd.

The whole brand identity is appropriate for my target audience as it’s trying to introduce younger generations (early 20s to 30s) into the craft beer market which is usually more in line with older generations. I have received some feed back from people around that age group mentioning that they would give it a try based on the labels which is a sign that the labels are doing what they are designed to do.

Overall I am happy with the results of my project, and feel I have completed my brief successfully. The work relates back to my research well and has been evidenced through out my development. I tried to stay off the computer as much as I could by looking into craft beers first hand in stores and breweries whenever possible as well as developing initial sketches by hand and test printing through out. I have really enjoyed working on this brief as I had always wanted to do something like this and the research into craft beers is something I enjoyed too. This project has allowed me to explore my illustrative work once again, as I had done a lot of photography based work through out the year. Given this opportunity to go back into illustration I was able to develop my skills and feel that I have improved through out this project and have started to develop my own illustrative style when it comes to producing vector work. In terms of professional practice I managed my time well and produced a good quantity of work for the length of the project and also feel that I can work faster now creating vector art. I was also able to produce finalised products which is something I haven’t been able to do for previous projects, except for maybe printing something on nice paper. This helps make me feel that my project was thoroughly completed and materialised into a final product that I am happy with. The only thing I didn’t have time to do was creating a website to go with my brand, however I did state I would only do it if time permitted after completing the other designs. I would have liked to have a go on muse again but it’s something I will have to explore on a future project.

Leave a Reply

