Photo Contact Sheet

Here is a sample contact sheet of my photos taken in Il Vesuvio, Soprano, Tiffin Cafe, and Kai’s Kitchen located in Tunbridge Wells. They all very kindly allowed me access to their restaurants and kitchens. I say this is a sample because there were over 500 photos that I took in total in order to make sure I had at least a couple good ones in there. Taking several shots of the same frame also helps make sure that one will be focused correctly, as even the slightest shake of the camera will have it’s impact with these shots.

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 22.01.45Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 22.02.32Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 22.03.00Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 22.03.12

This was definitely a challenge for me as I have learned though out this brief that food photography is a difficult thing to get right. Professional food photography would have several people from an art director, food stylist, pop stylist etc. working with a photographer.

Something that I didn’t plan for was that of the actual setting where I was going to be taking my photos; cramped kitchens, busy environment, fast paced, poor lighting . I relied only where was granted access to, whether that be in the kitchen, or a high table somewhere within the restaurants. This of course had an impact on how I took my photos, using a tripod and macro lens for the most part I had trouble sometimes achieving the ideal compositions and shots I would have liked for some.

All in all it was a good experience and I learned a lot about food photography and photography in general. I know how I could improve my photos if I was going to try something like this again.

 

Leave a Reply

