Personal Brand Logo Development

I started off sketching some ideas and after spending quite a while trying to do some divergent thinking, I still wasn’t sure what direction I should take with my branding. There was a few directions I could have gone with my logo, something decorative with a symbol to represent me (an eagle for example) or something to do with my initials and combining them to create a unique abstract shape.

I tried putting some of the logos on illustrator to see how they start to develop. After getting some feedback I got a bit of mixed opinions which didn’t really help the situation. I ended up going back to the begging and making sure I had though of the values I wanted to convey, choosing these as my final logo choices as I thought they reflected the values I wanted to portray through my branding the best. The ‘values/words’ being modern, minimal, reliable (professionalism)
Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 23.22.12

I ended up choosing to go with the ‘OD’ symbol which I though best related to the research I had been doing and it helped create a symbol which could work on its own but also work together with some type. I liked the other boxed ‘3D’ shape as well but I thought it didn’t work as well combined with text and I wanted to be able to incorporate ‘Olmos Design’ into the logo as I think it is important for am emerging brand as I am not known, or neither would people associate the abstract symbol to graphic design with out the actual text being there.

Here is the process in which I took the original design and further to make the logo even more abstract by removing the actual stroke around the letters and leaving just the inside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 23.04.08

I experimented with the position of the abstract mark with the type combination as-well as-well as-well as-well as-well as-well as well.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 23.04.23

But in the end still felt the original combination worked best.

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 00.37.48

I had some final feed back by having a vote in class by my classmates. These were the final results:

logoblack logowhite

As for the colour scheme for my branding I got inspired by a wallpaper image I have on my desktop! I don’t remember exactly where I got it from so I wont post it on here for copyright reasons.

Leave a Reply

