Magazine Spreads Development

Magazine #1 (Enmoladas)

I began by creating a new document in indesign to these specifications.

12.7mm margins top and bottom

12.mm margin left and right

6 columns

230 mm width by 275 mm height

4.233 mm gutters

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 17.30.02

At this stage I had been looking at what images would work best with my layouts, I had realised that even though I did plan my photos I didn’t really do enough research into it previously so I would have taken some photos in a different way. Particularly viewing from above and having the food set up purposely with deadspace for the article to sit in. But anyway I had photos done and I had a vertical image that worked well. I still had to slightly crop the image within indesign to get it to the right proportions.

I had a look online for recipes for the article and I also was sent an a ‘meme’ of reasons why you should drink tequila which I thought I could add in there and keep it light hearted. Eventually I ended up changing the article and using one with directions as well, from closetcooking.com

I used a 6 column layout because it allowed me the freedom to use a combination of columns. I decided to use Gill Sans as its a nice clean san serif with a large family, allowing me to use different weights to my type heir achy. After doing some test printing I reduced the body text from 14pts to 12pts as it did look a bit too clunky. I used Gill Sans light in all caps for some subheadings as I find this makes it clear of it’s ‘importance’ as a subheading but doesn’t deter from the more important information in this case which is the body text.

Based on my research and the magazine that I chose, I wanted to keep the same bright colour scheme and also the use of a script font or a slab serif. I used a typeface call Birds of Paradise which I think for an article like this, it works particularly well. Keeping with the mood of the spread and the colour picked orange help connect the two pages.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Magazine #2,3,4

My other three magazines were all travel articles based on Times Sunday Travel Magazine. So I used the same initial document settings:

18mm margins

5.9 mm gutters

6-3 columns

220 mm width

300 mm height

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 19.44.53

Beginning by placing my photo spread across both pages as based on my research. I added place holder text at first to get an idea of the layout

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 22.11.23

I wanted to experiment with the typography so I created this header. I wanted to create a neon glow effect as if it was in a night club. I thought this would work nicely as Ibiza is known for its night life.

IBIZA

I wasn’t really convinced by my attempt at neon type and I wanted to try out different typefaces, this one looked good as it seemed like the ruggedness of the typeface went well with the beach environment

Screen Shot 2015-09-23 at 22.02.30

Finally I ended up choosing Orator Std as my heading and subheading, I find this typeface to look quite clean and minimal and works well as a header with its wide tracking.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 21.47.23

I used an article I found on Ibiza-spotlight.com about Cala Conta beach (beach featured on spread). The article fit nicely within the two columns I wanted to set the text in. For the body I used Avenir Next regular at 11 pts and a leading of 15pt (approx… 150% of font size). For the drop cap I used Orator std at 3 lines. I think the text is set correctly and looks good, there are not many hyphens and I dont see any spacing issues.

Screen Shot 2015-09-23 at 22.12.04

I added the sunday times page footer using Avenir Next bold and regular at 8pt. and a caption in demi bold 10 pts.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 22.26.05

I did some test printing to make sure the text was legible and there wasn’t other issues.


For the third magazine I used a 3 column layout.

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 00.01.04

I experimented with placing the type in serif and san serif fonts but ended up reverting back to Minion Pro because of a couple reasons. Going back to my research I noticed that on both the travel mag and food mag both sometimes placed text heavy articles in a serif font even tho predominantly the magazine is uses a san serif font.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 23.21.21

Placing the type at 13 pts. The layout of the images worked alright but I decided to add a white stroke to the images on allowing for them to sit separately and have a bit of a margin in the middle of the magazine for future printing and placing in the magazine.


The fourth magazine I decided to try out something a little different and use white space to keep the design very minimal.

Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 20.06.22

I wrote an article with the help of www.ibiza-spotlight.com as reference to their ‘Top 5: Sunset Strip Bars’ article. I wanted to keep it short. I set the type at Avenir light opts. I intentionally wanted to leave the text very light. The drop cap used Orator std like the header.

Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 20.06.33

I wanted something to connect the spreads so I experimented spreading the header over the middle. I then got inspired by my soundcloud app and used a black rectangle shapes around the text of the header and inverted the type to white. I think this worked well, connecting the spreads and works in balance to the positive and negative aspect of the layout.


I had been working on this layout at the beginning but didn’t end up going back to fully finish it.Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 23.51.24


Leave a Reply

