Development pt. 2

After deciding which layout to go with I wanted to further develop it and add further refinements like design devices and set the type correctly.

I set up the document to a 6 column 200 mm x 200 mm layout, I set the top margin to 20 mm and the bottom to 15mm and the inside and outside margins at 12.7 mm. The reason for this is that I wanted to use the wide top and bottom margins like the ones found on Creative Review layout outs. I left quite wide gutters at 4.233 mm as this will allow some space for the article to breathe.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 20.08.58

This idea first developed from my third layout I made but I didn’t like how the pages flowed onto the third and fourth pages and I felt there was something missing on those pages.

The layout was inspired from the use of imagery found in the AR, Blueprint and Vice articles that I looked at, they used a large connecting image bleeding through to the second page taking up approximately a third of the second page. The use of a header and subheader placed on the main image is also found on all three of these magazines.

Architectural Review
Architectural Review : Large header and sub heading on a large image
DSC_0050
AR: image bleeding on to next page

I found that the photo I wanted to use as my initial image didn’t have an appropriate area to add a large header with a subheading so I played around with having a caption heading at the bottom right which connects to the header of the article. Since I didn’t like how this spread flowed with the third and fourth page I decided to change it. After experimenting with other designs I came back to this one to look at ways of connecting the spread together. Which brought me to my 6th layout

I got some further inspiration from a Vice article that I reviewed that showed images bleeding to one side of the spread, I thought this looked good and took advantage of that space which allowed for more space for the body text.

I also divided the body text into two columns which made the body text read better as the column width was at a better width of about a 44 character line length. I made the header on the image its self bigger with a choice of two type faces, futura for ‘Architecture’ and impact for ‘environment’ as I thought having the word environment would help communicate that the article is more focused on the environment side of architecture. I used a caption at the top of the second page and didn’t include a subheader as it didn’t fit on the image below the header and instead used a drop cap to emphasize the beginning of the article. I also placed a smaller image below the start of the the article taking up about half of the layout vertically.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 21.40.17

On the third and fourth pages I laid out the image to mirror the previous spread placing the body text on the third page. I also added a pull out quote to break up the body text and balance out the layout because of the image being quite heavy in colour. I felt that the layout still need further development as I wanted to add captions to the second page but the space provided did not leave me a suitable position and I was not happy with the heading placement on the first page and the how I didn’t have a subheading or sell.

I then went on to make this layout

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.04.08 Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.04.51

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.27.35

I reduced the size of the large images to take up just 2 columns of bleed on to the second page instead of three columns allowed me to place a small captions and the space allowed the layout to breathe. I changed the body text to a one column and it was at a good line length of about 58 characters.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.21.12

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.22.56
BLUEPRINT Magazine

I placed the header at the top of the article and was able to place a sub header crediting myself as seen on the BLUEPRINT magazine spread and I was also inspired to add an image of myself to further personalise this spread. This was appropriate in this case because the article and photos were produced by me. I also added further design devices like a an ‘Environment’ category on the top left of the second and third page, this further ties the text with the images and the environment subject. Also added the page number and the fictional magazine name, ‘Photography Now’ placed at the bottom outside corner of each page using Futura condensed medium typeface. This type face was also used on the environment category as I think it works effectively as a small heading font its bold yet clean.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.38.08 Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.37.54

The heading felt a bit heavy in contrast to the light blue sky on the first dps so I experimented with some typefaces.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 22.58.26

I wanted to go for a sans serif typeface as I think it reflects back to architecture and the imagery, keeping it modern and sharp. I liked Futura but it was condensed and may cause a bit of a problem for some people reading. Impact was too heavy and over powering. I chose Helvetica Neue as its a bit sharper and less round than Helvetica. Keeping to just one typeface instead of two.

After some feed back I was told to try going back to putting the body text into two columns instead of just one, that involved further tweaking. I had to add one column and changed the gutter size. This made the two column width too small thus making the line length was just a bit too small. The captions looked squished too.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 23.11.27

So finally I reverted back to the one column body text in my final outcome..

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 23.28.07 Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 23.28.22

I changed the header to Helvetica Neue bold and the sub header and body text placed at Helvetica regular this was after experimenting with different combinations having the body text in a serif typeface in fonts such as Minion Pro and Georgia I decided to keep to one serif typeface running through out keeping to the clean mininalistic feel through out.

I also did some test prints to check how the type looked in real size and it was too big so I reduced the body text to 9pts, the sub header to 12pts and the header to 31pts. On the second page I changed the position of the image and shifted it to the left leaving the white space on the right placing the caption on the bottom right set in one of the original 6 columns at 8pts. Changing the position of the image on the second dps worked better sectioning the body text emphasising it in contrast to the image and the white space on fitting the caption nicely and working with the margins around the layout.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 23.59.02

I also adjusted the body text by creating a base line grid that at 14.4 pt and adjusted the body text to it this was to have appropriate leading through out. I found that if I fully justified my body text there was too many rivers of space so I chose not to and leave it left justified.

Leave a Reply

