Grid Layout

I used the dimensions of a random paperback book so that I can mount my final piece once it’s printed. The book I chose has the following dimensions:

height 19.6 cm

width 12.8 cm

spine 1.5 cm

I then opened a new document on illustrator and used the dimensions accordingly, because I was designing the front and back I added times the width by two and added the width of the spine. The height stayed the same. After getting the document set up I added a few ruler guides to help separate the front, back and the spine. I also added bleeds manually to help me keep most of the information centered and not too close to the edges I gave the bleeds a 1 cm width on both sides of the front and back covers.

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 18.53.21

Leave a Reply

