Double Page Spread

After looking at layout designs within the Creative Review magazine I decided to go for a simple layout bringing the focus to the imagery as our spread is meant to be documentary type of article. I first created my document to the size of the current Creative Review magazine which is 248 mm by 248 mm, added three columns per page and adjusted the gutters to a position that allowed the text to breathe.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 02.05.51

After the initial document set up was done I accessed the baseline grid to use it as reference to help space out the type as appropriately as possible. After selecting the font size I would then use a conversion of 1.2 x (font size) in order to get my optimal leading specifications in this instance my font is 10pt ( x 1.2) therefor my optimal leading would be 12. Leading is the spacing between lines of text, having good leading means that it becomes easier for the reader to follow, too cluttered or too spaced apart and it becomes a harder read.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 02.06.20

Tracking is another important element of creating a good layout. Tracking is the space between the text and the columns. In this instance I did not have to worry about changing the tracking as the gutters were wide enough to leave enough of a gap between the columns. I also added a tag on the bottom corners, which I found in several layouts I researched stating CR and the date of the issue.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 02.06.32For the second page I added more images further basing the design on focusing on the images themselves. There is a good use of space with the layout of the images. I had to tweak the text a little bit so that I wouldn’t be leaving odd sentences sitting by themselves of paragraphs starting on the wrong positions.

ALL PHOTOGRAPHS USED IN MY SPREAD ARE TAKEN BY PHOTOGRAPHER ROBERT YAGER

Leave a Reply

